Easy Ways to Protect Your Computer from the Invisible Tracker

As technology progresses so does access to personal information from third parties on your personal computer. As a result, keen “cookie” surveillance is becoming an unexpected, inherent necessity to protecting your information and keeping your computer healthy. No, I’m not referring to the kind of cookies you eat, but rather the small tracking files dispersed from major websites and browsers that are used to disperse adds and other inconvenient obstacles that affect your daily browsing. And who better to control the access than YOU, the user.

In her article, “How to Avoid the Prying Eyes,” Jennifer Valentino-Devries relays valuable information on how to stop the invisible eyes of these trackers from “watching” you. These “simple steps” include:

  • Upgrading to the most relevant version of your internet browser
  • Frequently deleting the “cookies” collected from daily web browsing
  • Limiting the installation of “new cookies” from third parties by adjusting browsing settings

The article even provides links to the major browsers you should look out for, and more advanced ways to protect your information if the need be!

With the ever-expanding facets of the Internet, privacy is a growing concern that should be taken seriously and approached with the right precaution. I’m glad someone’s finally made it easy for me. I found this article extremely useful because now I can take the steps myself to prevent the problem ahead of time rather than having to borrow a friend’s car to drive to the Macstore or leave my computer with Technology Services for a week to get it fixed by someone else (if you haven’t guessed, I haven’t always had the best of luck when it comes to computers). It’s a frequent problem most computer owners and users don’t even realize they have, but, like I said, can cause more problems than it’s worth. So be smart, and protect yourself now.

2 responses to “Easy Ways to Protect Your Computer from the Invisible Tracker

  • kmurphy318

    I love your little cookie monster cartoon ha. I think this raises an interesting concern because the things she is suggesting are pretty basic, but most people (including myself) wouldn’t think to take these actions to protect themselves. I think a big part of the problem is a lack of awareness about just how threatened our privacy is. It’s important that people accessing technology that involves sharing personal information know the implications of their use, and take steps to protect themselves, I feel that this needs to be a built in component for ICT4D initiatives.

  • jessalynkunz

    I agree with the above comment, the cartoon definitely catches the eye! The good part about this is that it makes so much sense to your post. The whole aspect of cookies on my computers has always been a confusing thing for me. What they do, which ones I need, why they’re called cookies?I had for so long been daunted by these questions I simply decided to give up on worrying about them. Your post is therefore a great reminder that cookies are in fact something that should be thought about and dealing with them appropriately can reap huge benefits. With how easy you and Devries’s article make it sound, I see no reason for myself, or anyone, to take a few minutes to ensure their privacy.

Leave a Reply

